Thursday Restaurant Review: Cora

Chez Cora is a new breakfast restaurant that has now been opened for a couple of months in Victoria, BC. This is nothing new to us however. Chez Cora has many restaurants opened on the East Coast and I actually discovered it in Montréal when I used to live there. I was maybe 12 when I first went there and 11 years later, Chez Cora still has a special place in my heart (and my stomach).

cora-logo

The décor at Chez Cora is always uplifting. At the Victoria’s location, the walls have been painted with a honey color and drawings of the menu are displayed on them. You can tell from the kid’s drawings at the entrance and the warm colors that this is a family restaurant and it’s hard to be depressed after entering it. Even if it is pouring rain outside, you know that Chez Cora, someone with a smile and a hot chocolate is waiting for you inside. The waiters have always been very nice and we have been surprised to find more than one francophone working at this location (Frenchies united!).

As for the food, there is a reason why I have been coming here for the past 11 years. It is excellent. What I especially like about this place is that not all the dishes come with hashbrowns and toast (though some of them do), but instead with a lot of fruits. And by a lot, I mean half the plate is filled with strawberries, kiwis, bananas, … The last time I went, I got the panini crepe (displayed at the bottom of the picture menu). It is a crepe filled with egg and cheese (ham if you wish but I asked without) and a salad fruit on the side. The fruits tasted fresh and the panini was warm. It was very filling as I didn’t eat for more than a couple hours after that. I have had more than one dish at Cora and so far, I haven’t been disappointed. However, my mom had the blueberries pancakes and doesn’t recommend them because she felt they were not fluffy enough and that they were too many of them. Especially as they come with an English sauce instead of maple syrup. She felt a bit sick after eating them, but everyone is different, and I hope you enjoy them.

cora-french-toast

Panini crepe Sunshine is at the bottom

In brief, I will be coming back to Chez Cora, not only for the amazing service and the succulent dishes, but also for the warm atmosphere of the restaurant. I just wished the company would post their nutritional information on their website as this would make it a lot easier for people like me who are trying to lose weight and watch what they eat.

Total (categories are out of 5):
Food: Simple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFire

Excellent. There is no other words for it.
Service:Simple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFire Simple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFire

The service is great.
Price:Simple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFire Simple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFireSimple, Free Image and File Hosting at MediaFire

Reasonable prices.
Cora Breakfast and Lunch on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

